The second season of the fantasy samurai anime Hakkenden is coming this summer, and among the musicians working for the anime are one familiar face and one newcomer.

Hakkenden: Eight Dogs of the East is based on the manga of the same name by Miyuki Abe, which in turn was inspired the nineteenth-century 106-volume epic Nansou Satomi Hakkenden (南總里見八犬傳). The anime is centered around three close friends who survive a plague that wipes out the rest of their village. When they are hunted by the Imperial Church, the protagonist, Shino, must use his demon blade Harusame on a journey to find the owners of eight mystical beads.

The singer Faylan will perform the opening theme of the second season, titled wonder fang. She is also responsible for the opening theme of the first season and other anime like Mirai Nikki and Canaan. Ceui will perform the ending theme, Souai Calendula. Her past works include theme songs for the anime Sola and Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate.

The singles for both songs will be released on July 24, the same month the anime airs.


The cast and staff are the same as the first season, which you may have guessed since it aired just earlier this year.


  • General Manager: Osamu Yamasaki
  • Director: Mitsue Yamazaki
  • Series Composition: Osamu Yamasaki, Mitsue Yamazaki
  • Character Design: Hiromi Katou (Needless, Kobato)
  • Sound Director: Hozumi Gouda (Higurashi no Naku Koro ni)
  • Music: Hitomi Kuroishi (Code Geass)
  • Animation Studio: Studio Deen


  • Shino Inuzuka: Tetsuya Kakihara (Natsu from Fairy Tail, Simon from Gurren Lagann)
  • Inukawa Sousuke: Satoshi Hino (Yuuji from Shakugan no Shana, Saito from Zero no Tsukaima)
  • Hamaji: Ayahi Takagaki (Lisbeth from Sword Art Online, member of the idol unit Sphere)
  • Harusame: Nobuhiko Okamoto (Rin from Ao no Exorcist, Accelerator from Toaru Majutsu no Index)
  • Riou Satomi: Hiroshi Kamiya (Tieria from Mobile Suit Gundam 00, Levi from Shingeki no Kyojin)
  • Kaname Osaki: Daisuke Namikawa (Yuu from Persona 4)
  • Genpachi Inukai: Tomoaki Maeno (Junichi from Amagami SS)
  • Kobungo Inuta: Takuma Terashima (Otoya from Uta no☆Prince-sama♪ Maji Love 2000%)
  • Keno Inusaka: Junichi Miyake
  • Dousetsu Inuyama: Shinichirou Miki (Urahara from Bleach)


Source: Meikyou Shisui


Leave a comment