xbox one launch date

Earlier today Microsoft announced at its pre-E3 press conference their next-generation video games console, the Xbox One, will launch in 21 countries this November.

Which 21 countries, now? Hit the jump to find out!

  1. United States
  2. France
  3. Netherlands
  4. Canada
  5. Germany
  6. Switzerland
  7. Mexico
  8. Spain
  9. Russia
  10. Brazil
  11. Italy
  12. Sweden
  13. Australia
  14. Ireland
  15. Norway
  16. New Zealand
  17. Belgium
  18. Finland
  19. United Kingdom
  20. Austria
  21. Denmark

There you have it! Those are the 21 countries that will receive the Xbox One this year in November; all other territories will get Microsoft’s next-gen console in 2014 instead.

Interestingly, none of the 21 Xbox One launch countries are from the Asia region – not even Japan, a country that got the Xbox 360 on the same week as the US back in November 2005 when Microsoft’s then-next-gen (but now-current-gen) console was launched.

There might be a good reason behind why the Xbox One is not launching in any Asian territory this year. This is just speculation on my part, but it might have something to do with the way that Xbox One integrates television channels into console’s dashboard. If that’s the case, Microsoft may need additional time to liase with television broadcasting partners in Asia.

Or it might have something to do with region-locking; Xbox consoles sold in Asia are region-coded as NTSC-J, as opposed to NTSC-UC for United States and Canada, and PAL for all European territories plus New Zealand and Australia. Perhaps Microsoft is considering abolishing the NTSC-J region-code altogether, but needs more time to determine if this is healthy for the console in Asia.

Pricing details for the Xbox One in Singapore and other Asian territories will be announced at a later date. We’ll keep you posted if we hear anything.

In the meantime, check out more of SGCafe’s coverage on E3 2013 at


Leave a comment