Held annually during the Japan Science Fiction Convention or KoiCon, the Seiun Awards celebrates the best science fiction in Japan from the preceding year. Some of the Notable past winners of the awards were Madoka Magica (2012, best media of the year), Full Metal Alchemist (2011, Manga of the Year), Range Murata (2006, Artist of the Year), The Girl Who Lept Through Time (2007, best media of the year) and Card Captor Sakura (2001, Manga of the Year).

Koicon 2013 poster

Koicon 2013 poster

Seiun is the Japanese word for Nebula and is quite a fitting name for an award celebrating science fiction though it not only limited to honoring science fiction, but also honors fantasy and other forms of speculative fiction as well. Held last weekend, July 20-21, a host of great stories and artists won big during the awards. With the people who attended KoiCon voting for the winners, here are the results;

(For more anime here on SGCafe, click here)

Winning Best Media of the Year is the 2012 anime, Moretsu Pirates. The anime adaptation of Yuichi Sasamoto’s Mini-Skirt Uchū Kaizoku light novels may not have been as widely received outside Japan but the voters attending the convention have spoken. This would be a big win for the anime as it beat out the gigantic movie juggernaut known as The Avengers as well as Eureka Seven Ao and Rinne No Lagrange.


Winning Non-Fiction of the Year is the article titled “The Present and Future of CGM: The World Opened Up by Hatsune Miku, Nico Nico Douga, and PIAPRO” from the offprint of the May 2012 issue of IPSJ Magazine. 


Renowned artist and manga writer Kenji Tsurata once again wins the Best Artist of the Year award. The artist known for his works Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi and Spirit of Wonder has previously won the award twice back in 2000 and 2001.


Yukinobu Hoshino’s manga adaptation of Jame’s P. Hogan’s Inherit The Stars meanwhile wins the Best Comic/ Manga of the Year award. The manga beat out Ken Akamatsu’s Negima! Magister Negi Magi which ended last year as well as Kôji Kumeta’s popular Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei manga.


The Best Japanese Long Story (Novel) went to Tou Enjou’s ‘Shisha no Teikoku (The Empire of Corpses)‘ while the Best Japanese Short Story went to Chōhei Kambayashi’s “Ima Shūgōteki Muishiki o“.

novel short

The awards also honors translated works from other countries. Masayuki Uchida’s translation of John Scalzi’s 2006 science fiction novel “The Android’s Sleep” won Best Translated Long Story (Novel) while the Best Translated Short Story was won by Hiroshi Kaneko’s translation of Paolo Bacigalupi’s “A Pocketful of Dharma“.

foreign pumpsix

Want more? Read more on anime and manga here on SGCafe. Also, feel free to join in on our community discussion forums.

From animeanime.jp


Leave a comment