The winners of Tokyo Anime Award Festival‘s individual awards were finally announced and as expected, there were a few surprises, but no surprise was bigger than the one awarded to Neon Genesis Evangelion director Hideaki Anno.


The legendary anime director and animator known for his work in anime classics like the Evangelion series, Nadia: The Secret of Blue Water, Macross and Gunbuster has recently been announced as the festival’s Seiyu Award (voice actor award) winner and he won the award for his voice acting debut as Jiro Horikoshi from the critically acclaimed Studio Ghibli anime movie, The Wind Rises.

Anno also has a shot at winning the awards festival’s most prestigious prize as his Evangelion: 3.0 You Can (Not) Redo (Evangelion Q) was nominated for Anime of the Year.

The Best Director award went to Tetsurou Araki. He is known for directing series like High School of the Dead, Death Note and Guilty Crown, but his work that made him win this year’s Best Director Award is Attack on Titan which was clearly 2013’s most talked about anime series.


Three people win the Best Original Screen Play Award and they are Hayao Miyazaki, Yasuko Kobayashi and Reiko Yoshida.

Miyazaki is the director behind such anime classics like My Neighbor Totoro, Princess Mononoke, Castle in the Sky, the Oscar Award-winning Spirited Away and his most recent work, The Wind Rises which is also nominated for Anime of the Year.


Yasuko Kobayashi wins the award for her work on Attack on Titan. She is known for writing for several anime, dramas and tokusatsu series like Kamen Rider Den-O and Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure.


Reiko Yoshida meanwhile is known for her works on various anime series like Kaleido Star, K-On!! and Girls und Panzer.


The Animator Award meanwhile went to Kitarou Kosaka for his animation work in The Wind Rises. He has also worked as an animator for other Studio Ghibli classics like Princess Mononoke, Howl’s Moving Castle and Spirited Away.


The Character/ Mechanical Design Award was given to Sushio for his character designs for Kill la Kill. He is known for his work on Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann and Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt.


Yoji Takashige meanwhile wins the Art Director Award for The Wind Rises. He has also worked for other Studio Ghibli anime like My Neighbor Totoro, Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away. He also served as Art Director for Summer Wars.


Finally, the Music Award was given to composer Hiroyuki Sawano. he has arranged music for Mobile Suit Gundam UC and Guilty Crown. His most recent works are arranging music for Attack on Titan and Kill la Kill.


From the looks of things, the Tokyo Anime Awards Festival is currently being dominated by two titles, namely Attack on Titan and The Wind Rises.

The winner of the Anime of the Year will be announced on March 22, 2014 at the Tokyo Big Sight. Special screenings for the anime movies, AnoHana, Gintama, madoka Magica, The Wind Rises and Evangelion Q will also be held at the Toho Cinemas Nihonbashi.

The awards festival also has a fan award which lets fans decide which anime will win. You can check out the twenty final nominees for the fan award through this link.

Read more on your favorite anime here on SGCafe!

Also join in on the community’s discussions at

Source: Anime Festival official Website


Leave a comment