The smoke has cleared and the dust has settled and finally, the winners for the 8th Annual Seiyu Awards have been chosen. The winners of the special awards like the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Synergy Award were announced last February 2014 and now, the main winners have finally been chosen.


Best Actor: Yuki Kaji


Kaji is known for voicing High School DXD’s Issei Hyoudou, Magi’s Alibaba Saluja, Accel World’s Haruyuki Arita/ Silver Crow and Guilty Crown’s Shu Ouma. But perhaps his most notable role from the past year would be voicing Attack on Titan’s Eren Yaeger.

Best Actress: Rina Satou


Rina Satou is known for voicing Hyperdimension Neptunia’s Vert, Mahou Sensei Negima’s Negi Springfield, Minami-ke’s Haruka Minami, and Blue Exorcist’s Shura. Perhaps her most endearing role would be voicing A Certain Scientific Railgun S’s electrifying main character, Misaka Mikoto.

Best Supporting Actor: Yoshimasa Hosoya


He has voiced many great supporting roles this past year including Magi’s Masrur, Valvrave’s X-Eins and Ixion Saga DT’s Pet.

Best Supporting Actress: Yui Ishikawa 


New Comer Yui Ishikawa is known for voicing Attack on Titan’s powerful Mikasa Ackerman as well as Gundam Buil Fighters’ “Inchou” China Kousaka.

Rookie Actor Award Winners:

Kaito Ishikawa


Ishikawa is known for voicing characters like Golden Time’s Mitsuo Yanagisawa, Tokyo Ravens’ Harutora “Bakatora” Tsuchimikado, and Nagi no Asukara’s Tsumugu Kihara. He has also voiced Gargantia’s main character Ledo and will be voicing Atelier Escha & Logy’s main character, Logix Fiscario.

Daiki Yamashita


He has voiced Log Horizon’s newbie samurai Touya and Yowamushi Pedal’s otaku cyclist, Sakamichi Onoda.

Fresh Face Award: Maaya Uchida


She has provided plenty of unforgettable performances as Chuunibyou’s Rika Takanashi, Sankarea’s Rea Sanka, A Certain Scientific Railgun S’s Frenda, Noragami’s Hiyori Ikki and GJ-Bu’s Mao Amatsuka.

Fan Award: Hiroshi Kamiya


He is known for voicing Seijurou Akashi from Kuroko’s Basketball, Tiera Erde from Mobile Suit Gundam 00, Zehart Galette from Gundam AGE, and Blue Exorcist’s Mephisto Pheles.

Best Singer Award: Mamoru Miyano


Known for voicing Death Note’s Light Yagami and Mobile Suit Gundam 00’s Setsuna F. Seiei, he has various hit singles and sold-out concerts. He has also performed the OP songs for various anime like Free! and UtaPri.

Kids Family Award: Kumiko Higa


She is known for voicing Rockman.EXE’s Netto Hikari.

Special Award: Anpanman


The award will be accepted by Anpanman’s voice actress, Keiko Toda and Ryusei Nakao who voices Baikinman.

The awards ceremony will be held later today, March 1, 2014 and will be broadcast live via the Nippon Cultural Broadcasting at 18:00 (6:00 pm) Japan time. You can also view the other winners through this link

Read more on your favorite voice actors here on SGCafe through this link

Read more J-entertainment news here on SGCafe.

And join in on the community’s discussions at

Source: Seiyu Awards official


Leave a comment