The dust has finally settled and everything is now clear as the winners for the Newtype Awards have now been announced during a live stage event in Tokushima, Japan. The winners were determined via online voting and the partial results were released last September, which showed a clear domination by The [email protected] Movie. Did the idols of 765 Pro hold on to their lead? Here are the results:

Best Character Design:

3) Kazuaki Morita (Arpeggio of Blue Steel: Ars Nova)

2) Nishigori Atsushi (The [email protected] Movie)

1) Sushio (Kill la Kill)


Best Mechanical Design

3) Gundam UC

2) Aldnoah.Zero

1) Arpeggio of Blue Steel


Best Anime Movie

3) Tiger & Bunny The Rising

2) Madoka Magica: The Rebellion Story

1) The [email protected] Movie


Best TV Anime

3) Love Live!

2) Arpeggio of Blue Steel

1) Kill la Kill


Best Mascot

3) Senketsu (Kill la Kill)

2) Hamzou (The [email protected])

1) Kirishima (Arpeggio of Blue Steel)


Best Male Character

3) Chihaya Gunzo (Arpeggio of Blue Steel)

2) Producer (The [email protected] Movie)

1) Kirito (Sword Art Online)


Best Female Character

3) Mako Mankanshoku (Kill la Kill)

2) Ryuko Matoui (Kill la Kill)

1) Haruka Amami (The [email protected] Movie)


Best Male Voice Actor

3) Mamoru Miyano

2) Yoshitsugu Matsuoka

1) Yuki Kaji


Best Female Voice Actor

3) Sora Amamiya

2) Manami Numakura

1) Eriko Nakamura


Best Anime Studio

3) Sanzigen

2) Trigger

1) A-1 Pictures (A-1 president Ueda cosplays as Kirito when he accepted the award)


Best Screenplay

3) Nishigori Atsushi

2) Gen Urobuchi

1) Kazuki Nakajima

Sound Award

3) Love Live!

2) The [email protected] Movie

1) Kill la Kill

Best Screenplay

3) Nishigori Atsushi

2) Gen Urobuchi

1) Kazuki Nakajima

Best Theme Song

3) Tiger & Bunny The Rising

2) Kill la Kill

1) The [email protected] Movie

Best Anime Director

3) Akiyuki Shinbo (Nisekoi and Monogatari)

2) Hiroyuki Imaishi (Kill la Kill)

1) Nishigori Atsushi (The [email protected] Movie)

Kill la Kill, The [email protected] Movie, and Arpeggio of Blue Steel were the clear winners of the Newtype Awards as all three series were consistently in the Top 3. [email protected] continued to dominate in best voice actress, best theme song, best director, and best female character, but slipped in a few categories like Best Mascot where Hibiki ganaha’s pet hamster, Hamzou, once held the top spot during the preliminaries. Kill la Kill meanwhile also dominated some categories like best character design and the Holy Grail of the awards, the Best TV Anime Award.

Kirito meanwhile (predictably) won the Best male Character award, while A-1 Pictures, which animates Sword Art Online gets the Best Anime Studio. Their president was so happy that he even cosplayed Kirito!

Do you agree with the winners of the Newtype Awards?

Don’t miss a single update from SGCafe! Follow us on Twitter: @SGCafe

Read more on your favorite anime here on Sgcafe! so read more on the other rankings through this link. Also,  join in on the community’s discussions at

Source: Yaraon!


Leave a comment