The New Year Kouhaku Uta Gassen, or Red and White Song Battle, has been a New Year’s tradition in Japan, and Japanese TV broadcast giant, NHK, has announced this year’s line-up and it includes a few returnees, which include a who’s who of Japan’s music industry.


The line-up of artistes greeting 2015 will be split into two groups, red and white, with all the male artistes representing the White Team while all the female artistes representing the Red Team. The winners are then decided via popular vote.


Being part of the teams for Kouhaku is considered a huge honor as artistes are only included to the show by invitation. This year’s acts are considered “Top of the Brass”, which include voice actress Nana Mizuki who will be appearing for the sixth strait time, and T.M. Revolution, who will be marking his fifth appearance in the show. AKB48 will be appearing for only the seventh time while Japanese music industry legend, Hiroshi Itsuki, will be appearing for the 44th time.


Sayaka Kanda, who was last seen playing Junko Enoshima in the live action Danganronpa stage play will be appearing for the second year while idol group HKT48 will be appearing for the very first time. Other confirmed acts joining the musical extravaganza will be Perfume, Kyary Pamyu Pamyu, Momoiro Clover Z, and others.

Here is the full list of participants, including the number of times they have joined the by invitation-only event:

Red Team:

Ayaka (7)
E-girls (2)
Ikimono-gakari (7)
Sayuri Ishikawa (37)
HKT48 (1)
AKB48 (7)
SKE48 (3)
NMB48 (2)
Sayaka Kanda (2)
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu (3)
Kaori Kōzai (18)
Natsuko Godai (21)
Fuyumi Sakamoto (26)
Ringo Sheena (2)
Yoshimi Tendo (19)
Miyuki Nakajima (2)
Kana Nishino (5)
Perfume (7)
Ayako Fuji (20)
Seiko Matsuda (18)
Nana Mizuki (6)
Kaori Mizumori (12)
miwa (2)
May J. (1)
Momoiro Clover Z (3)
Hiroko Yakushimaru (1)
Akiko Wada (37)
White Team:

Arashi (6)
Hiroshi Itsuki (44)
EXILE (10)
KANJANI Eight (3)
Chris Hart (2)
Hiromi Go (27)
Golden Bomber (3)
Sandaime J Soul Brothers (3)
SMAP (22)
Sexy Zone (2)
T.M. Revolution (5)
TOKIO (21)
Hideaki Tokunaga (9)
AAA (5)
Tsuyoshi Nagabuchi (4)
Kiyoshi Hikawa (15)
V6 (1)
Kōhei Fukuda (2)
Masaharu Fukuyama (7)
Takashi Hosokawa (38)
Porno Graffitti (13)
Akihiro Miwa (3)
Shinichi Mori (47)

Don’t miss a single update from SGCafe! Follow us on Twitter: @SGCafe

Read more on J-entertainment news here on SGCafe.

Also,  join in on the community’s discussions at

Source: ANN


Leave a comment