The Anime of the Year Award is considered one of the most prestigious awards in the Japanese animation industry, and during the Tokyo Anime Award Festival’s awarding ceremony held last March 21, the winners for the various awards were announced, and just like last year, they were divided into the Film, TV, and Fan Award categories. The winners are:

Theatrical Animation Division: Love Live! The School Idol Movie
TV Animation Division: Shirobako


ANIME FAN AWARD: Gintama (2015)


The other winners include:

  • Best Director: Yoichi Fujita
  • Best Script/Original Work: Shuu Matsubara  for Mr. Osomatsu
  • Best Animator: Chikashi Kubota
  • Best Character or Mecha Design: Naoyuki Asano

Love Live! defeated The Anthem of the Heart, The Boy and the Beast, and Expelled from Paradise to win the film division’s Anime of the Year Award, while Shirobako defeated One Punch Man, Mr. Osomatsu, and Your Lie in April to win the TV Anime of the Year Award.

Last year, the Anime of the Year Award went to Frozen for the film category, while the Anime of the Year for the TV category went to Ping Pong the Animation.

Don’t miss a single update from SGCafe! Follow us on Twitter: @SGCafe

Read more on your favorite anime here on Sgcafe! also read more about mangas here on SGCafe Also join in on the community’s discussions at



Leave a comment