The winners of the annual Newtype Awards are still to be announced next month during the Machi Asobi 2016 event in Tokushima, Japan, however, as the voting is still not done, the preliminary or partial results have been posted. Here are the results so far:

Best Anime (TV)


  1. Macross Delta
  2. Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress
  3. Bungou Stray Dogs
  4. Haifuri/ High School Fleet
  5. Mr. Osomatsu

Best Anime (Film)


  1. Girls und Panzer der Film
  2. High Speed! -Free! Starting Days-
  3. The Anthem of the Heart
  4. Kizumonogatari Part 1 and Part 2
  5. your name.

Best Character (Male)


  1. Ikoma (Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress)
  2. Subaru Natsuki (Re:Zero)
  3. Kotarou Tennouji (Rewrite)
  4. Koyomi Araragi (Monogatari series)
  5. Riku Yagami (Prince of Stride: Alternative)

Best Character (Female)


  1. Rem (Re:Zero)
  2. Mumei (Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress)
  3. Akeno Misaki (High School Fleet)
  4. Anne Hanakoizumi (Anne-Happy)
  5. Nana Sakurai (Prince of Stride: Alternative)

Best Mascot

  1. Isoroku (High School Fleet)
  2. Timothy (Anne-Happy)
  3. Tippy (Is the order a rabbit??)
  4. Chibimoth (Rewrite)
  5. Puck (Re:Zero)

Best Voice Actor (Male)

  1. Yuusuke Kobayashi
  2. Hiroshi Kamiya
  3. Daisuke Ono
  4. Yoshitsugu Matsuoka
  5. Mamoru Miyano

Best Voice Actor (Female)

  1. Inori Minase
  2. Kana Hanazawa
  3. Yumiri Hanamori
  4. Shiina Natsukawa
  5. Saori Hayami

Best Director

  1. Shoji Kawamori (Macross Delta)
  2. Tetsuro Araki (Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress)
  3. Takuya Igarashi (Bungo Stray Dogs)
  4. Tatsuyuki Nagai (Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans)
  5. Tsutomu Mizushima (Shirobako)

Best Character Design

  1. Majiro (Macross Delta)
  2. Haruhiko Mikimoto (Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress)
  3. Nobuhiro Arai (Bungou Stray Dogs)
  4. Naoyuki Asano (Mr. Osomatsu)
  5. Atto (High School Fleet)

Best Screenplay

  1. Toshizo Nemoto (Macross Delta)
  2. Ichiro Okouchi (Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress)
  3. Youji Enokido (Bungo Stray Dogs)
  4. Shuu Matsubara (Mr. Osomatsu)
  5. Mari Okada (Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans)

Best Mecha Design

  1. Macross Delta
  2. Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress
  3. Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans
  4. Mobile Suit Gundam UC RE:0096
  5. Girls und Panzer der Film

Best Theme Song

  1. “High Free Spirits” (High School Fleet)
  2. “Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress” (Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress)
  3. “Do Dake no Koinara” (Macross Delta)
  4. “Philosophyz” (Rewrite)
  5. “DEAD OR ALIVE” (Fafner EXODUS)

Best Sound

  1. Girls und Panzer der film
  2. Kabaneri of the Iron Fortress
  3. Rewrite
  4. High Speed! -Free! Starting Days-
  5. High School Fleet

Best Studio

  1. Satelight
  3. Sunrise
  4. Bones
  5. XEBEC

There you have it folks, the preliminary results. Voting closes on September 14, 2016, and are conducted for the readers of Newtype Magazine. To be eligible to win the award, the works must be aired or screened between the periods of October 2015 and July 2016, so older works are not included.

Don’t miss a single update from SGCafe! Follow us on Twitter: @SGCafe

Read more on your favorite anime here on Sgcafe! so read more on the other rankings through this link. Also,  join in on the community’s discussions at

Source: News Walker Plus


Leave a comment