The Cartoon Grand Prize, also known as the Manga Taisho, celebrates excellence in the Japanese manga industry. Now, the official website has announced the 13 nominees, which were all selected by a committee of 92 people, comprised of bookstore employees who are all very familiar with manga.

A special awarding ceremony will be held on March 28th to award the winner. A total of 253 manga titles were included in their list of possible nominees, but the committee only chose 13 of them, and they are:

Aoashi by Yuugo Kobayashi

Karakai Jouzu no Takagi-san by Souichirou Yamamoto

Kin no Kuni Mizu no Kuni by Nao Iwamoto

Koutei Dragons by Taku Kuwabara

Golden Gold by Seita Horio

Delicious in Dungeon by Ryoko Kui

Tokyo Tarareba Musume by Akiko Higashimura

Nami yo Kiite Kure by Hiroaki Samura

Hi Score Girl by Rensuke Oshikiri

Hibiki – Shousetsuka ni Naru Houhou by Mitsuharu Yanagimoto

Fire Punch by Tatsuki Fujimoto

The Promised Neverland by Kaiu Shirai and Posuka Demizu

Watashi no Shounen by Hitomi Takano

So, which manga will win it this year? I guess we will have to find out this March!

Don’t miss a single update from SGCafe! Follow us on Twitter: @SGCafe

Read more on your favorite anime here on Sgcafe! Also join in on the community’s discussions at


Leave a comment