The Tokyo Anime Award Festival (TAAF)’s Anime of the Year award is considered one of the highest honors in Japanese animation. Anime series which win this award are often considered the best anime of last year. The award is actually split into three winners, one for the feature film category, one for TV anime, and one voted on by fans. The awards’ official website has now announced the results, and the winners are:

Anime of the Year (Movie): A Silent Voice (Koe no Katachi)

Anime of the Year (TV Anime) AND Anime of the Year (Fan Award): Yuri!! on Ice

Other awards:

Best Director: Makoto Shinkai (your name)

Best Script/Original Work: Reiko Yoshida (A Silent Voice)

Best Animator :Tadashi Hiramatsu (Yuri!! on Ice character designer)

Best Art/Color/Visual: Shunichiro Yoshihara (JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond Is Unbreakable)

Best Sound/Performance: Hiroyuki Sawano (Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn RE:0096)

Yuri!! on Ice dominated, winning Anime of the Year for both fan award and TV anime. This is the first time that one single anime managed to win TWO Anime of the Year awards at the very same time.

Meanwhile, A Silent Voice pulled off a HUGE upset, beating out heavy favorite your name. to win Anime of the Year for movies. Makoto Shinkai still won Best Director however, which many fans saw coming.

The festival will be held in Ikebukiro from Tokyo from March 10-13. The awarding ceremony will be held on the 13th, which is the final day of the event. Orevious winners of the Anime of the Year award include Love Live! School Idol Movie, Gintama, Shirobako, Tiger & Bunny the Rising, Ping Pong The Animation, Attack on Titan, The Wind Rises, and of course, Disney’s Frozen. Yes folks, Disney’s Frozen previously won Anime of the Year!

Don’t miss a single update from SGCafe! Follow us on Twitter: @SGCafe

Read more on your favorite anime here on Sgcafe! Also join in on the community’s discussions at


Leave a comment